My Beliefs Create My Life

Last week I wrote about my lack of belief.  That’s very difficult for me to admit.  After all, I’ve been teaching Science of Mind for ten years.  Science of Mind teaches that we can control our minds, and by changing our focus, we can change our beliefs, which, in turn, will create the world we want to live.  To admit that my belief about something is lacking just doesn’t track with that and it causes me to feel that I am lacking.

Then again, I know it’s all a learning process and takes baby steps.  Even after learning about Science of Mind fifteen years ago and teaching it for ten, there are some areas in my beliefs that are still in the baby step stage.

However, the Universe evidently has a sense of humor and takes pity on such as I!  A few days after I wrote last week’s blog, and discussing this with a friend, I found an envelope in the mailbox…an envelope addressed to me…an envelope that contained a check for $150!  An unexpected $150!  I wrote a paper for a colloquium, presented via video last month.  I didn’t know that speakers were paid!  I thought that just having my paper accepted for presentation was the payment I’d receive.  Thank you Universe!  I’ll take your sense of humor any time, for a lesson like that!

If that wasn’t enough, I also received notification that I’d be receiving a certain amount from Amazon later this month – royalties from my book, It’s Still New!  Again…unexpected revenue!  This is the second month in a row that I’ve receive royalties!

Little by little, my beliefs about money are changing.  Even though I believe that God is my Source, I know that sometimes, make that too often!, I get into the “How”…how am I going to do…?  Again, I teach, “my business is the what”.  My job is to dream, vision, and listen, then to take the steps that I feel guided to take.  The “how” is the business of the Universe.  God, or the Universe, or Spirit, whatever name you want to give it, takes my dreams and makes them happen.  Do I believe that whatever I want will just materialize out of thin air?  No…and yes.  I believe it’s possible.  I remember Wayne Dyer and Deepak Chopra talking about how things manifest.  There are several levels of consciousness…one is to think, “I’d like an ice cream cone,” and go out to buy it.  The second is to think, “I want an ice cream cone,”  and someone brings you one.  The next is to think, “I want an ice cream cone,”  and put out your hand and it materializes.  I haven’t reached that level yet, but I believe it’s possible.

I know that everything…everything...is energy, therefore, I believe that anything is possible.  My work is to get to the level of consciousness that I can think of an ice cream cone, put out my hand, and there it is.  Make that a scoop of lemon custard and one of Greek Sunset, please!  On a sugar cone!

Leave a Reply

